Mothers remain heart of the home

The following is an excerpt from the book, Real Life Moments, by J. Mark Fox.

“Her children rise up and call her blessed…” (Proverbs 31:28)

Are moms important? 

Well, I guess it depends on who you ask. The California State Judiciary Committee must not think moms are such a big deal. They passed a bill through their committee a few years ago that would remove sex specific terms such as “mom” and “dad” from textbooks. 

The bill is sponsored by Democratic Sheila Kuehl, best known for playing Zelda Gilroy in “The Many Loves of Dobie Gillis” in the 1960s. 

Kuehl, who is a lesbian, is quoted on WorldNetDaily as saying the aim of the legislation is to “improve the climate in schools for gay, lesbian, bisexual and transgender kids.” 

We have come a long way from the days of “Father Knows Best” and “Leave it to Beaver.” A cartoon in the Saturday Evening Post years ago showed a young boy of 5 or 6 talking on the phone, saying, “Mom is in the hospital, the twins and Rozie and Billie and Sally and the dog and me and Dad are all home alone.” 

That was a time when moms were held in high esteem by most in our nation. Mom was the heart of the home, Dad was the head. Moms were the tender-hearted nurturers, dads the fearless warriors. 

They made quite a team, Mom and Dad. They were incomplete without each other; his strengths were her weaknesses, her strengths were his weaknesses. Dad was too harsh sometimes, Mom was too soft. Together they raised children in a safe place. Not a perfect place, mind you. But one that was secure. 

There are millions of children in the country today who would give anything to be in a home like that. In his book, “Love Must Be Tough,” James Dobson tells the story of a sixth-grade teacher in California who taught in an affluent area. She gave her students a writing assignment. 

They were to complete the sentence that began, “I wish … ” She expected the boys and girls to wish for bicycles, dogs, laptops and trips to Hawaii. Instead, 20 of the 30 children made reference to their own disintegrating families. Here’s what some of them wrote: 

“I wish my parents wouldn’t fight and my father would come back.” 
“I wish my mother didn’t have a boyfriend.” 
“I wish I could get straight A’s so my father would love me.” 
“I wish I had one mom and dad so the kids wouldn’t make fun of me.” 

I am so thankful for the mom who lives in my house. I couldn’t imagine life without her. She truly is the heart of her household, and as the Proverb says, “The heart of her husband safely trusts her.” That’s why she deserves anything I and the kids give her tomorrow. No gift is too good for the mom who lives and loves at our house. 

I heard a story about a boy talking to a girl who lived next door. 

“I wonder what my mother would like for Mother’s Day,” he said. 

The girl answered, “Well, you could decide to keep your room clean and orderly. You could go to bed as soon as she calls you. You could brush your teeth without having to be told. You could quit fighting with your brothers and sisters, especially at the dinner table.” 

The boy looked at her and said, “Naah, I mean something practical.”

Prayer: “Thank you for my wife and the mother of our children, and bless her for the sacrifice she makes to help take care of the household.”

Action: Don’t wait for Mother’s day to spend some time going around the around the dinner table, praising the lady of the house for all that she is and does. Do it tonight!

Take me back to C4FIC.org

About C4FIC

The Council for Family-Integrated Churches exists to promote reverence for the gospel in order to reform the church and restore the home as an embassy of the kingdom of God.
Gallery | This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

