Going there with Daddy

The following is an excerpt from the book, Real Life Moments, by J. Mark Fox, C4FIC Board member.

Real Life Moments

“The Lord God (is) in your midst. The Mighty One will save; He will rejoice over you with gladness, He will quiet you with His love, He will rejoice over you with singing.” (Zephaniah 3:17)

When I was growing up, there were two things that would ALWAYS get me out of bed in a hurry. I remember it like it was yesterday the family vacations that started at 0-dark-thirty, as we would roll out of bed and hit the road when it was still “a great while before dawn.” Dad liked to drive when the roads were empty, and Mom liked to get her feet in the ocean as soon after sunup as possible, and we three boys didn’t mind. We knew we would sleep all the way down and wake up at the BEACH! Mom still tells the story about the time we stopped halfway to the beach at gas station, and I groggily jumped out of the car with my bucket and plastic shovel, looking for the sand. Boy was I disappointed that my nap was interrupted for a pit stop! But I crawled back into the car, confident that my father would get us there…

The other time of the year when I relished getting up long before the sun did was on Christmas morning. That was the day when something waited for me downstairs and it was always a surprise. I remember many of those nights, laying in my bed bug-eyed, staring at the ceiling, praying to God to let me go to sleep now so I could hurry and wake up in the morning! I would finally drift off to a fitful sleep, sometimes dreaming that I overslept and missed Christmas!  I never did, and Dad and Mom always had something special for us under the tree, a surprise with our names on them…

Where am I going with these stories? Simply here: I still love Christmas morning, and I still love vacations with my family, especially to the beach, but I am not “limited” any longer to enjoying getting up early only two days a year. Our heavenly Father calls us out of bed early in the morning every day, just to be with Him. He whispers to us in the night that He loves us and can’t wait to surprise us with His gifts that are new every morning.  I confess that sometimes I sleep right through that opportunity, but not because I don’t want to be in His presence. Sometimes my own busy-ness crowds out the most important business: a relationship with the God who created me for Himself. He loves us and delights in us, His creation. The Bible says it like this:

When I think about the God who created the universe out of nothing, speaking the worlds into existence, flinging the stars into space, making the galaxies appear with a single word, I am awed by His unspeakable power and might. Then I am reminded that this same God came to earth in the flesh, took on the form of a servant, and suffered and died because His creation had rejected Him and gone our own way. I am awed by His ineffable love and mercy. This mighty, loving, gracious God calls me and you to meet with Him, to draw near to Him, to get to know Him, to see what surprises He has for us. That’s what gets me out of bed in the morning. I know that no matter where this day may take me, I go there with Him…

Prayer: “Lord, help me to get ‘blanket-victory’ and rise early to spend time with You every morning.”

Action: Set your alarm thirty minutes earlier for tomorrow morning and make sure you get up when it goes off!

Take me back to C4FIC.org

About C4FIC

The Council for Family-Integrated Churches exists to promote reverence for the gospel in order to reform the church and restore the home as an embassy of the kingdom of God.
Gallery | This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

